G-Free & Tasty: A Snack

This is a continuation of my Step 1 in combating infertility with food: Goodbye Gluten!

Who says G Free food can’t be delish? Or that it has to be weird and complicated? I will be posting three of my favorite simple recipes that naturally have no gluten over the next few days, including my very first fertility food friday! Make sure to check back!

Jalapeno Poppers: Yum

Often people I talk to associate eliminating grains from their diet with removing everything fun. It just ain’t so friends. This poppers are my one of my favorite snacks/appetizers. In my humble opinion they beat the heck out of dry pretzels. But don’t take my word for it…. This is a half adaption from our awesome neighbors with a little bit of the Pioneer Woman mixed in. This is the basic recipes, but you can do all sorts of crazy things to suit your own taste!

Ingredients:

Some very yummy beginnings...

  • 8-10 jalapeno: depending on how large they are and how much cheese filling you like. Mine are big guys and I like lots of cheese.
  • 8 oz (1 package) of cream cheese.
  • 8-10 slices of bacon (one per whole jalapeno)
  • 1 Cup whole Milk + 1 Cup Water or 2 Cups Chalk Water Skim Milk

How to:

Slice all your jalapeno in half, length wise (you may want to wear gloves)

YeeHaw

Do all the lovely green peppers. Line them up on your cutting board and bask in the excitement of your adventure.

Purdy

Using a small spoon, Scrap the seeds out. Unless you like your food fire burning hot. Its your call.

Weak Sauce

Texas called. They want their residency back.

Now here is my super secret, that I can up with all by myself (shh, I don’t want to know your grandma does this. I want to feel smart!). Take your milk water mixture and SOAK THE JALAPENOS. Heres my gauge of hotness:

  • Fire breathing Texan skip this, plus leave some seeds.
  • Eats “Hot Salsa” with ease: Get rid of the seeds, skip this step, or perhaps give the peppers a good rinse with water.
  • Medium Salsa (Me): Soak Peppers in Milk Water for 5-10 Minutes
  • Mild Salsa: Soak Peppers for 10-15 Minutes.
  • Prefer Green Peppers to jalapeno: Soak for 20

Bath Time

Give them a good rinsing, and off we go.

Cut your bacon in half. Heres where we go so wrong its right from my neighbor & the Pioneer woman. Use half a strip of bacon, instead of 1/3. Its delish, plus you don’t have to worry as much about securing it with a toothpick come assembly.

More Bacon please!

If you want to stop reading right here because you think bacon is the root of all things health evil, please do not. A little bacon isn’t going to hurt you, and there is a lot of research that says that bag of pretzels will. I highly encourage you to get your hands of some Weston A Price & Paleo literature and read up on why our body NEEDS fat to function. No, vegetable oil/processed garbage/whatever’s not next to how God invented it does not count. I plan on writing about that here, but until then, please go read. We will wait…

Ok your back! Lets get to it!

Stuff each of your halved, rinsed, and somewhat dried (don’t be a perfectionist) peppers with cream cheese. Fill depending on how much cheese to pepper you think you may like. I like lots of cheese.

You may need to mash the cream cheese in with your fingers. Its ok. Get Messy!

Wrap each of these little amazing creatures in half a slice of bacon.

Swoon!

Look Ma, no annoying toothpick!

Line them up on your pre created jalapeno Popper 2000.

Oh, you don’t have one?

Ok, here’s how to make one:

Jellyroll Pan from Goodwill, Foil, Cookie Cooling Rack

You could also just put these on the grill. But sometimes I want them at, say 10 am on Tuesday and I don’t want to fire up yee olde grill.

Layer a piece of foil on the jelly roll pan (cookie tray would work)

Top with the Rack.

The end.

Line your little delicious friends up on the rack.

Popper 2000

Now here comes the controversy. The Pioneer Woman slathers on some BBQ sauce. I am not a fan. Husband is a HUGE fan. Compromises must be made.

This is the High Fructose Corn Junk Free, Hailing from Austin Texas (Heart!) BBQ Sauce I Use:

Yum

Brush your BBQ sauce on as many Poppers as you feel compelled to. In my house that’s half of them.

JUST HALF. You can do what you want...

Bake these bad boys for 25-30 Minutes at 325. At the end I like to do 2-5 Minutes under the broiler (on High) to crisp up the bacon. Again, these work well on the grill. But, please don’t take my word for it:)

Finished Product

 Even though my picture taking is not great, you will want to shove one of these bad boys in your mouth immediately. Be warned! They are HOT on the inside. Let them cool for 5 or so minutes.

Say Hello to my little friend.

These keep well in the fridge for maybe a week, but they won’t last that long. My husband came home from work and shoved 4 in his mouth. REALLY. Maybe you should think about hiding them. The when someone is like, oh yum I’m eating a crusty dried pretzel, you can be all like, I gonna go eat some Amazing-ness. You could be nice and share then. That would be the right thing to do.

So to vary this lovely recipes you could:

  • Add shredded cheeses to the cream cheese, mix together than stuff. Sonic Cheddar Peppers have nothing on yours!
  • Add a piece of pineapple to the pepper before you wrap it. Mmm Spicy Sweet.
  • Add a piece of chopped shrimp before you wrap it.

You do what you want, its your popper!

3 Responses to G-Free & Tasty: A Snack

  1. Sarah Ferguson says:

    Basically, I can never introduce you to my hubby because if he knew you made something like this, he might want to adopt you…or have you at least teach me:) Great blog Bee:)

  2. Claire says:

    Drool, I’m making these now! I’m so hungry.

Leave a Reply

