Infertility is a jerk; so I kicked it in the face.

My Story

Hi! I am the NuttyBee. I am a SAHM to Sweet Pea, who’s arrival we are eagerly anticipating. Sweet Pea is how I got started in this nurtrative-holistic-food thing. Or, as I like to call it- Nutty Bananas. Nutty because it seems a little (lot) crazy. Banana’s because it works so well (as in “this food is banana’s, b-a-n-a-n-a-s.” it old, I don’t care, don’t judge me).

Sweet Pea took his/her sweet time coming into our lives. I was given plenty of diagnoses: Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, Endometriosis, Hyperinsulema, Poor Egg quality, and finally “Unexplained Infertility”. (If I had the previous list, I don’t think its that unexplained sweet Doctor. But I digress). Couple of failed rounds of fertility, Sweet Doctor told me I need to begin seriously considering In-Vitro. Because my eggs wimpy and sad (and unexplained!).

I am very, very good at following directions. I went home and ignored everything Sweet Doctor had said. I googled every holistic, homeopathic alternative I could find. Low and behold I found a slew of people who cured their infertility with diet. And a whole host of other diseases. Always methodical and precise, I decided to try ALL the methods. AT THE SAME TIME. I gave up sugar, caffeine, high fructose corn syrup, alcohol, gluten, took some herbs, did shots of wheat grass, practiced “fertility yoga” (and  as dirty as it sounds..). And prayed. A lot.

Four weeks later my husband, PateintJay and I were staring at a positive pregnancy test. Take that Unexplained Host of Diseases! Sweet Doctor didn’t know what to do. Ultrasound Tech demanded, How are YOU better?? I was humble. HAHA, I was really smug. Then morning sickness hit.

I will try and keep up to date on all sorts of research here. By no means am I a doctor or qualified medical professions. Use good judgement when trying anything. Find a doctor or naturopath willing to listen to you and talk to them. But don’t negate what the hippies say, because my friend, the Hippies are always right.

3 Responses to Infertility is a jerk; so I kicked it in the face.

  1. CaveGirlEats says:

    You are amazing. This will help so many people.

  2. nuttybee says:

    Thanks friend! It’s still pretty rough.

  3. Love that you are sharing your story!!

Leave a Reply

